The Benguela Current Convention

The governments of Angola, Namibia and South Africa signed the Benguela Current Convention in the Angolan city of Benguela on 18 March 2013.

The Convention is a formal treaty between the governments of Angola, Namibia and South Africa that sets out the countries' intention "to promote a coordinated regional approach to the long-term conservation, protection, rehabilitation, enhancement and sustainable use of the Benguela Current Large Marine Ecosystem, to provide economic, environmental and social benefits."

The groundbreaking environmental treaty will come into force once it is ratified by each Party.

The Benguela Current Convention also establishes the Benguela Current Commission (BCC)– in existence since 2007 – as a permanent inter-governmental organisation.
The BCC is the first inter-governmental commission in the world to be based on the Large Marine Ecosystem concept of ocean governance – a move towards managing resources at the larger ecosystem level (rather than at the national level) and balancing human needs with conservation imperatives.

The BCC is based in Swakopmund, Namibia, and is focused on the management of shared fish stocks, environmental monitoring; biodiversity and ecosystem health; the mitigation of pollution; and minimising the impacts of marine diamond mining and oil and gas production. Sound environmental governance and training and capacity building are at the forefront of its agenda.

icon Signed Benguela Current Convention ENGLISH (1.03 MB)

icon Signed Benguela Current Convention PORTUGESE (1.03 MB)

icon Signed Headquarters Agreement ENGLISH

icon Signed Headquarters Agreement PORTUGUESE

Photographs from the Signing of the Benguela Current Convention, 18 March 2013