Who is responsible for Marine Spatial Planning in Namibia

Namibia has committed, through the Second National Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan (NBSAP 2) and the regional BCC Strategic Action Programme, to implement MSP. The Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources (MFMR) has been tasked by Cabinet, through the NBSAP 2, to coordinate the process of MSP in Namibia. The MFMR initiated the formation of the Marine Spatial Planning National Working Group (MSP-NWG) which leads and implements the technical MSP process. The MSP-NWG consists of representatives from the following ministries and institutions:

  • • Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources (MFMR)
  • • Ministry of Mines and Energy (MME)
  • • Ministry of Works and Transport (MWT)
  • • Ministry of Environment and Tourism (MET)
  • • National Planning Commission (NPC)
  • • Ministry of Defence (MoD)
  • • Ministry of Urban and Rural Development (MURD)
  • • Ministry of Land Reform (MLR)
  • • Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Forestry (MAWF)
  • • Ministry of Industrialization, Trade and SME Development (MITSMED)
  • • National Commission on Research Science and Technology (NCRST)
  • • University of Namibia (UNAM)
  • • Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST)

MSP Stakeholders

MSP stakeholder is understood as being any person or group with an interest or stake in the coastal and marine environment, and/or affected by the forthcoming Marine Spatial Plan(s) and associated planning process(es). These stakeholders have been and continue to be engaged in the MSP processes which include the development of the plan, implementation and reviewing. Stakeholders represent three broad categories as illustrated in the figure below:

The three (3) broad stakeholder groups involved in MSP

• Government
o Central government
o Regional councils
o Local authorities
o State owned enterprises

Private sector: Stakeholders representing the key marine sectors operating in the area
o Industry associations
o Enterprises

• Civil society: Stakeholders representing non-governmental and public interests
o Non-governmental organisations (NGOs)
o Research and educational institutions
o Local community groups and traditional authorities
o Traditional authorities
o Unions
o Citizen and other community-based organisations