The Agulhas and Somali Current LMEs

There are two Large Marine Ecosystems in the western Indian Ocean. These are the Somali Current LME – which extends from the Comoros Islands and the northern tip of Madagascar up to the horn of Africa – and the Agulhas Current LME which stretches from the northern end of the Mozambique Channel to Cape Agulhas.

Nine countries share the resources of the Agulhas and Somali Current LMEs. They are Comoros, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa and Tanzania.

Between 2008 and 2014, the countries worked through the Agulhas and Somali Current Large Marine Ecosystems (ASCLME) Project to safeguard the long-term sustainability of the living resources of the ASCLME region by introducing an ecosystem-based approach to management.

The ASCLME project was funded by the Global Environment Facility (GEF) and implemented by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).